jump to navigation

Thinking of writing a book? Here’s the roadmap…. May 31, 2006

Posted by John M McKee in Business.
trackback

john mckee

I was working with a client today; we were developing his Personal Action Plan for the next few years. During our session, he told me he wants to write a book.

It struck me that many people probably have an interest in doing the same thing, so I thought I'd share my experience so you could see for yourself what would be involved if you've got a book inside you. I have also provided the names of the companies and people I used if you want to take advantage of my legwork:

It's true when people say that writing a book is easier than getting it out to the public.

As some of you already know, last fall I created an EBook to help women who were scratching their heads over some of the issues they face everyday in business life. I was helped by a brilliant (and fun) former executive colleague, Helen Latimer; and I'd recommend to any writer that they use another person in the process. With her help my ideas came into being over the course of about 4 months.

To get my book created and then available for sale, I used a company called 6Sense.net. We worked for a few months with the owner, Lisa Peterson. She's great – anyone who wants to create an EBook would be wise to try to work with her.

The final product, called, "21 Ways Women in Management Shoot Themselves in the Foot"; was released during the International Coach Federation's annual convention in San Jose in November. Over the following weeks, I was surprised by how much interest people of both genders had for it. Orders on the website BusinessWomanWeb.com started the day after the EBook was announced, selling at $10.99. Early in January, I decided the demand was good enough to warrant translating it into a 'real', soft cover book.

After a lot of research to figure out which publisher would be the best to work with (many thanks to Chris Habers, again) I decided that Wheatmark Publishing was the best solution. They have a straightforward business approach and seem to care about the book as much as the business.

Next, I moved into the editing process, working with a great editor at Wheatmark, Susan Wenger. Our work together included adding new material and expanding many of the previously created ideas to make the book more meaningful. It went up to 132 pages by the time it was finished; and I am very happy with the outcome.

In late April, the printing presses were ramped up and the book became real in every sense.

Around the 2nd week of May, my publicist Merilee Kern of Kern Communications, went into action. A press release was issued last week going out across North America, to be followed up by phone calls with magazines' and newspapers' book reviewers expressing interest in getting a copy to review and (hopefully) write about the content, and recommend that the book be purchased. Anyone looking for a good publicist should reach out to Merilee – she really knows her stuff.

Whew!

If you're interested in seeing the finished product, it's available thru various booksellers in both the US and Canada. For bargain shoppers, Amazon.com has a particularly good deal on it. They've dropped the price from $15.95 to $10.37 (which makes it less than the EBook last fall).

To go there, copy this link: http://tinyurl.com/psu5m
21 Ways copy.jpg

So, there you have it, a guide to the steps required and some awesome resources to use. Listen to your muse and share yourself with the rest of us!

Comments»

1. Alex - June 10, 2007

Thank You

2. khim raj subedi - November 26, 2010

Dear Alex,

Thanks for useful tips.

3. updated blog post - October 18, 2013

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems
locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.
I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

Either way, great site and I look forward to
seeing it grow over time.

John - October 21, 2013

Hi – see below


Leave a Reply

