jump to navigation

Me, The Wallstreet Journal, and of course – Infiniti September 13, 2006

Posted by John M McKee in Business.
trackback

The Laws of Attraction are alive and well.

If you aren’t familiar with them, I’d be happy to get you some information if you send me an email or post a request on this blog. In a nutshell, they are based on research which indicates that people are capable of controlling their future. Most ‘very successful’ individuals use it one way or another.

Last year my youngest son, Trevor, was 23 when we went out to buy my current car. He helped me make the right decision by acting as my coach, challenging my assumptions and existing behaviors. I expected to buy a new Lexus, but after test drives and deal negotiations, we drove home, to my surprise, with an Infiniti. It was great ‘doing a deal’ with my son. And it’s the best car I’ve ever had.

I’m a bit of a ‘car guy’. Since I was 16 years old, I have had new cars every year or two, consequently I am a knowledgeable shopper. And, as a former retail executive, I’m a strong consumer advocate. I get really cranky when things are promised but not delivered. I believe that all people have a right to expect what they are told they are going to get. Still, when I do get something really good, which works exactly as promised; I am usually surprised. The Infiniti is one of those wonderful surprises.

The sad truth: I became one of those people who go ‘evangelical’! You know us – we go out of our way to tell everyone who listens about a particluar product or service. We tell them why they should buy it or use it. I felt bad (but good) that my neighbor is about to succumb and buy an Infiniti. I worried about becoming so boring that my friends would quit visiting. (Even though I was convinced that when they finally went to the Infiniti store they’ll come back to me.) Of course, I realized also that most people can’t or won’t spend this much for a car – even one this good. But I couldn’t stop myself. This car is such an excellent product, that I behaved like a paid spokesperson.

So, imagine how fitting it seemed when I got a call a couple of weeks ago from the advertising agency that represents Infiniti. They asked if I’d be interested in appearing in a feature in the Wall Street Journal for them. I have no idea how they chose me or even found me.

I agreed. You can see it in tomorrow’s edition of The Journal on page A3. If you aren’t a reader, go to this link for a copy of it.

http://businesssuccesscoach.netfirms.com/wallstreetjournal/

The Wall Street Journal’s style, if you don’t read it often, is to use drawings, not photos, of people. So, that person on the left is an artist’s rendering of me. Tell me what you think. I promise I won’t try to ‘sell’ you anything. And I wasn’t paid to do it.

Comments»

1. Jeff Leverence - September 15, 2006

Hi John, I think your Infinity ad in The Wall Street Journal is very effective. After I read your short bio, I wanted to cotact you. I own a web domain; http://www.womensgolfvideos.com I’m considering selling the rights to this web domain through a web broker. We operated a successful e-commerce web site at womensgolfvideos.com with the sole purpose of helping business women purchase various videos and dvd’s that taught women how to golf and compete with the “boys” in the arena of business relationship building and networking on the golf course. I’d be interested in speaking with you to discuss my opportunity. Jeff Leverence: 414-550-6500


Leave a Reply

