jump to navigation

Spike TV had some odd questions for a career successs coach…. March 4, 2008

Posted by John M McKee in "John M McKee", Business Success Coach, Career Wisdom, Coaching, Gen Y's, Job advice, Manswers, Offtime, Personal Success, Satisfaction, Spike TV, Veracity.
Tags: ,
trackback

John M McKee

Last week a team from the TV network Spike TV arrived at our office. They’d come to interview me for their top rated show Manswers.

A four person outfit, they moved quickly and soon set about changing around furniture, adjusting the bookcases’ “background” pieces such as pictures, certificates and yes, books; assembling lights of different sizes and intensities around the place, and doing sound checks. (“I’m picking up on the recording a bird chirping outside – can we do anything about the birds around here?”). Lighting was an issue and consequently the temperature increased significantly within about an hour of them arriving.

I learned that anything which is considered “art” needs is best left off-camera. This, because the original artist may not want their work shown without their approval. To ensure no mistakes are made, such “art” can include things like book covers – even the 2 books I’d written were covered-up; photographs including my family, and grad certificates from schools like Pepperdine University. So my bookcase will probably look like a wall of things misplaced or turned around. But no one will see their “art” displayed without permission.

When I’d been asked to appear on the show, the assistant producer had said they were coming to me because I am a “recognized expert on career and job success issues.” She told me they have a light and fun show, and that they use experts to provide some fact-based balance for their viewers. I gathered she must have seen me on other TV shows or perhaps on local radio; but who knows how these things come together?

Some of the questions I was asked for my segment:

  • what is a chicken sexer, and how much can they earn? (This is a person who determines the sex of baby chicks in chicken farms. If you’re a new chick, you don’t want to be a male by the way. They earn about $300 a week.)
  • what are some good jobs that most guys don’t consider? ( Here are a couple which I suggested: Gastroenterologist – earns up to $8k a week and most enjoy the work. Or a crime scene cleaner – it’s the kind of job which a guy who wants to work alone can appreciate. And make $1400 a week.)
  • how much does the average US employee make? (About $600 a week.)
  • Others included – are most people happy with their work? What are the best ways to get a job? How much can an arm wrestler make professionally. And a bunch more. (Tune-in and find out the answers. My episode will probably be on-air in a month or so.)

I enjoyed the team from Spike TV, and as a result I went onto their website and watched some old episodes. Definitely stuff aimed at youngish males on this show. But I did learn a few things about each one’s subject. I’ll let you be the judge – drop me a line when you see it.

looking forward…..

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

