jump to navigation

Anxiety, sleeplessness and performance March 12, 2009

Posted by John M McKee in "John M McKee", Action Plans, Business, career success, Coaching, DIRECTV, life balance, Personal action plans, professional speakers, replenishment, Satisfaction, small business coach, Tempur-Pedic, The Secret, Veracity, wellness.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

tn_john-002.jpgI was recently invited to become a Wellness Advisor for Tempur-Pedic, the company famous for making sleep products.

Subsequently, I did some research on them.  When they invited me, the folks at Tempur-Pedic didn’t know that I’d been in the home furnishing business earlier in my career.  I was one of the leadership team at a large chain of retail stores that was very big in bedding and mattresses.  But Tempur-Pedic had come to me because they’d seen and heard me when I addressed about the importance of sleep in regards to one’s performance on the job. They came to talk to me as a coach, with no knowledge of my former corporate experience.

I was interested to see if Tempur-Pedic offered anything different than those other brand names we all see advertised by retailers across the nation every weekend.  And I was impressed with what I learned.

I found out that they really are an interesting company with cool products.  Their beds and pillows are created using a proprietary Tempur pressure-relieving material, it’s not just a “memory foam bed” which I had mistakenly assumed.  And the Tempur material is made using a formula and manufacturing process known to just a handful of individuals (like the recipe for Coke or KFC).

The company sells products that are usually associated with furniture in the medium high and higher prices.  I wondered if these products were really worth the difference in prices than say a mattress from IKEA or a Simmons sleep set from Macy’s.  They are.

I went to a retail store and working with a very knowlegable sales rep I tested a bunch of beds and asked a lot of questions.  I found out that I really liked their beds compared with others of similar prices.  They really have something with their secret formula.  And, as anyone who saw the recent Jim Carey move, Yes Man, will know – it’s as good for 2 people as a bed can be.

I am now a Wellness Advisor for the company.

I took them up on their offer because it came with no rules or obligations that might put me in a compromise.  I am not expected to talk about sleep all the time.  I don’t have to  pitch their products.

However, Tempur-Pedic will provide me with information I can use as a coach. Some recent research they’ve caused shows conclusive evidence that the economy today is causing increased anxiety which, in turn, is affecting people’s sleep patterns.  This type of research can be shared with others to help them improve their game:

For a professional who is trying to keep employed, or someone who is out of work, this type of insight and information could be something never considered.  And it’s important because factors affecting one’s performance could result in a layoff; or hamper their ability to get another job.

In closing, I’m going to get a Tempur-Pedic bed to ensure that I really know what I’m talking about when it comes to pro’s and con’s.  But I think I know that answer already.  Will keep you posted.

john

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

